1M.chat
  1. Home
  2. Case studies
  3. Case

Free DevOps lessons and simulators: $4.5K in 30 days, learn by doing

DevOps Daily offers free tutorials, guides, simulators, quizzes, exercises, browser-only utilities, and weekly news for engineers seeking hands-on DevOps education. Its $4.5K in the last 30 days is verified through the payment provider's API by TrustMRR (Stripe), as of September 30, 2026.

What it actually sells

The site positions DevOps Daily as "A community-driven education platform helping engineers learn DevOps through practical tutorials, hands-on exercises, and real-world guides." It serves DevOps engineers seeking practical, hands-on education and says the project is open source and free to access. The stated reason for creating it was to broaden access to high-quality, practical DevOps education.

The learning mix includes tutorials, guides, simulators, quizzes, exercises, and weekly news. The site also offers browser-only utilities for CIDR, JWT, base64, UUID, cron, K8s sizing, and YAML, with no sign-up or server. It displays 730+ articles, guides, and hands-on learning tools. Separate counters show 413+ Articles, 28+ Guides, 15+ Hands-On Labs, 30+ interactive simulators, and 26+ quizzes.

The 28+ multi-chapter guides provide structured learning paths with progress tracking, from Introduction to Docker to Supply Chain Security. Hands-on exercises give step-by-step practice with real-world DevOps scenarios. Short interactive quizzes cover Docker, Kubernetes, Terraform, networking, and more. A latest-content feed is presented as a way to stay up to date with the latest DevOps content.

How it charges

The site says DevOps Daily is open source and free to access. The founder profile lists 2 active subscriptions, but the site does not explain what the subscriptions cover. The profile's revenue figures—$4,519 in the last 30 days, MRR: $38, last 12 months: $18,529, all time: $18,529, 5 of the last 5 months above zero, and best month 2026-07 at $5,500—are verified through the payment provider's API by TrustMRR (Stripe), as of 2026-09-30.

Month by month

Monthly revenue as read from the payment provider by TrustMRR, in US dollars, as of September 30, 2026.

MonthRevenue (USD)
2026-05$3,000
2026-06$2,500
2026-07$5,500
2026-08$3,010
2026-09$4,519

Where customers come from

The site reports 5,000+ DevOps engineers learning every week. Visible routes into the project are its latest-content feed, free browser-only utilities that require no sign-up or server, and a GitHub presence where content, code, and learning tools are available and contributions are invited. The site does not provide channel-specific audience data or connect that audience to subscriptions.

The founder-listed growth channels are Blog, Newsletter, Content marketing, SEO, Facebook, LinkedIn, Threads, X / Twitter, Google Ads, Email marketing, Forums, Referral program, Affiliate, and Press & PR. These are profile listings, not channel performance data; the site does not disclose how much each contributes or which channels bring subscribers.

What stands out

The site says, "Beyond articles and guides, we build interactive learning experiences: hands-on labs where you practice real scenarios, quizzes to test your knowledge, and simulators that let you experiment without breaking production." In that description, the without-breaking-production point applies to simulators, not labs. Hands-on labs are described separately as step-by-step practice with real-world DevOps scenarios.

A second distinguishing surface is the free utility set: CIDR, JWT, base64, UUID, cron, K8s sizing, and YAML tools that run in the browser with no sign-up or server. The site also says all content, code, and learning tools are available on GitHub, with contributions, feedback, and suggestions welcome. It does not state contribution volume or channel attribution for the free tools.

From the official site

A community-driven education platform helping engineers learn DevOps through practical tutorials, hands-on exercises, and real-world guides.
Beyond articles and guides, we build interactive learning experiences: hands-on labs where you practice real scenarios, quizzes to test your knowledge, and simulators that let you experiment without breaking production.

Excerpts from the official website, fetched October 1, 2026.

Where it sits in the data

DevOps Daily's $4.5K in the last 30 days is higher than 89% of the 5,602 projects with payment-verified revenue in our dataset; the median across them is $150. Within the “Education” category (517 projects) it is higher than 91% (category median $156). Snapshot: 2026-09-02 to 2026-09-30. The dataset only covers founders who chose to publish their numbers, so it leans toward businesses that work; use it for scale, not as an average.

Currency

All figures are in US dollars as published. A rough yuan or euro conversion is not applied here because prices, taxes and acquisition costs differ by country.

Could you build something like this?

Demand would come from DevOps engineers who want practical practice instead of only reading. The likely buyer is an individual engineer looking for guided scenarios, quick reference tools, or a structured way to test knowledge. Distribution could come from search-driven educational content, GitHub, newsletters, forums, social posts, referrals, and useful no-sign-up tools. A paid offer would still need a clear buyer benefit.

The hard parts are keeping technical content accurate, maintaining simulators and utilities, and supporting engineers when exercises or tools fail. Competition includes free learning sites, documentation, and command-line tools, so a new version needs a clear difference in format or feedback. Regulation depends on the features added: payments, privacy, accessibility, and handling user data can add legal and operational work.

Verdict: Needs real work.

One thing to take from it

The clearest lesson is to separate the free audience product from the paid offer. DevOps Daily openly provides education and browser-only tools, but the site does not explain what the active subscriptions buy. A founder copying the approach would need to define that paid benefit, connect it to a specific engineer need, and decide which listed channel turns free usage into subscriptions.

Sources

  1. DevOps Daily official website, fetched October 1, 2026
  2. DevOps Daily about page, fetched October 1, 2026
  3. TrustMRR: revenue verified through the payment provider's API by TrustMRR (Stripe), as of September 30, 2026

Revenue, team and start-cost figures are what the founder reported at the interview date, not current figures and not a prediction of what you will earn. Product and pricing facts come from the business's own website as checked on 30 September 2026. Method & sources · Disclosure

More case studies